It all begins with a V….

Lately I find myself becoming obsessed with abstract art. Linear shapes, unusual lines and compositions, strange (to me) color combinations, interesting compositions of textures that seemingly don’t fit together, yet are completely harmonious together. I feel my mind expanding in new and exciting directions.

fringe assoc yarn wall

Cool color combos (photo courtesy of Fringe Association)

hollywood club door

Old Hollywood Club Door from flickr.

Oddly enough, most of my Colorspiration board photos thus far I’ve pinned are doors. In case you’ve been living under the same rock as me, there are some really fantastic doors out there in the world! It makes my plain black one seem rather dull in comparison.

Also, chevrons. I am absolutely crazy about this trend, and I thought it was a new thing for me, until yesterday I re-discovered this hat pattern I had favorited on Ravelry back in, let’s see…wait for it….September of 2008! This has been a long time hidden love for sure.

chevronloves medium

Yeah, it’s actually called the Chevron Love Hat, created by Julia Vesper – and it’s only $3 for this gorgeous pattern!

The newest Knitscene is littered with chevron designs. My breakaway fave is this sweet little pullover:

emmanuelle sweater mercedes tarasovich clark knitscene

Emmanuelle Sweater by Mercedes Tarasovich-Clark (don’t the colors just give you warm fuzzies??)

The new Interweave Knits also followed suit, with this amazing intarsia chevron sweater that made the cover, that reminds me of the female version of the Dude’s sweater in The Big Lebowski:

plowman medium2

Plowman Cardigan by Alex Capshaw-Taylor

I’ve never been a big fan of the Cowichan sweater, but c’mon, I’d be so rocking this cozy cardi while holding a White Russian in hand! I digress…

I even broke down and bought this gorgeous bag I found on Etsy a few weeks ago, and I’ve been using it every day since:

chevron bag

I heart my Chevron Bag from Retrofied! She has other color combos too…

I’ve been holding back on getting this Chevron wood necklace, and you know, my Birthday is in May, and I wouldn’t be mad at all if you sent one to me….ha. You, however, should totally go get one. Because it’s awesome.

chevron wood necklace

Chevron Stripe Necklace in multiple colors by birdofvirtue

You can see where I’m going with this, right? (Right??)

chevron beret progress 1

Oh….yes. (Insert happy magical sounds here.)

Chevron Beret goodness, out of Dream in Color Classy in colorway Grey Tabby. Taking a break this weekend and working on this lovely design has just made me totally giddy inside.

chevron beret progress

What’s the red for, you ask? That would be for the bow I’m going to put on it. Yup, that’s right. It is going to All Girled Out. Of course for the pattern you’ll have the option to not make the bow (I don’t know why on earth you wouldn’t want to, but I know you’ve gotta have options people…).

This is my inspiration photo for the bow idea:

anthro bow beret

Tenney Park Beret from Anthropologie (isn’t is just adorable?)

I won’t blame you one bit if you just go and buy that one for $38, but I have this burning desire to make my own. Better of course, you know, with chevrons. Because if you know anything about me by now, it’s that I don’t do plain.

I expect to have this finished up for you by next weekend, check back with me. Have a lovely day and don’t forget to take a break sometime, all of us need to.

Ocean – John Butler (This song is simply beautiful, if it does not move you I don’t know what will. Watch the first minute if for nothing else than to see how beat up his guitar is – awesome.)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne from Montreal
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 14:23:33

    Now you have me hooked on that Chevron hat! I’ll just have to buy it and use my stashed yarn to play with the colours. Thanks! *giggles*

    Thank you for the reminder about the break. I’ll find a way to take one today. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

