Chill…out…

That’s the title of this post, simply because it’s an attempt at reminding myself what I need to do. Life has been moving in such a frenzied, hectic way lately that it’s been near impossible for me to relax at all.

calla lily

Oh calla lily! How your sweet pink blush mesmerizes me…

Our 4th of July was very, very wet & soggy – which meant all fun outdoor activities were cancelled. There were flash floods and some local streets were under water, so this was not something to be trifled with. I made some awesome burgers and potato salad (which was a particularly good one) with corn. All-American I suppose.

I think the highlight last night for me was sneaking out to my front stoop, stopping to take a breath and hearing those lovely rain droplets. I find it interesting that the fireflies still come out at their appointed hour, despite the falling rain.

Watching & listening to Sydney and her BFF next door, running around and yelling in the rain with their little hooded towels draped over their heads, squealing every time they heard fireworks. (Which I have no idea who/where/how they were still setting them off. Crazy drunk people, just sayin’!)

sydney giant lollipop

In lieu of pics of last night, here’s my girl with her giant crabby patty lollipop….because, why not?

I wished I could recapture some of that childhood magic, when you live in that one moment and (truly) nothing else matters. It did my heart good to see my daughter being happy and giddy in the rain. For those of you in the States, I hope you had some fun (and more exciting) adventures yesterday.

christmas tree elf

Teeny, tiny Christmas tree (my own design) with elf, since I’m working 6 months ahead of schedule now! Sort of fitting to make this on the 4th, I think. We’ll see what this turns out to be.

Have a blessed day. Take a nap for me. ~E

“Lucy Pearl” by Jerry ‘Boogie’ McCain

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yarnmama10
    Jul 05, 2013 @ 20:56:37

    It is very soggy here too. I spent the day reading though so I don’t mind. :-)

    Reply

    • countingsheepstudio
      Jul 06, 2013 @ 00:58:31

      Reading…I’m so jealous. I used to do that. Now I just run around in circles banging into walls. Do you just lock yourself up in a padded room to do that or are you giving your kids lots of Benadryl all day to get them to calm down?? ;)

      Reply

      • yarnmama10
        Jul 06, 2013 @ 03:05:42

        Reading is like oxygen to me. I would wither without it so I fit it in whenever I can. I read at bedtime and get up early to catch some solitude while everyone is still in bed. I also fill in the gaps by using audiobooks at any opportunity like driving, shopping, mixing dye, etc. You would be surprised how much time that can be. Oh and as for the reading day; that is our school on those days and the littler ones are reading with me. Also there is a trade off. I don’t get as much knitting done when I am in a major reading mode like I am now. Knitting is not my priority right now. I am in a slump for sure.

  2. countingsheepstudio
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 20:48:12

    Interesting. That is how I feel about knitting and creating overall. If I don’t get my daily fix, I get really grumpy. Lately, I’m finding that writing fills an interesting void I didn’t even realize was present. I like audio books, though I find it’s a little harder to get really into them – unless the narrator is especially brilliant.

    That’s great you are reading lots with the kids. My older daughter is reading mostly on her own now, and the little one won’t let me read, she yells at me and makes up her own story. Well, you are certainly enriching your brain! I really need to allow myself to at least do a chapter a day…more than a few pages, which is the norm.

    Reply

  3. Jocelyn
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 09:42:19

    That calla lily is just gorgeous! You have such green thumbs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

